Learn About Each Other's Culture

Our History

International Friends was founded in July 1952 by the wife of UA President Richard A. Harville and a group of other women from the local community. At the time, there were just 63 international students at the University. The fledgling group was first called Families for International Friendship. It grew slowly through the years, relying on small donations from a variety of local individuals and organizations.

International Friends became an Arizona corporation in February 2004 and also received official 501(c)(3) tax exempt status from the IRS. This—along with the support and encouragement of our students, community hosts, and Board members—provides a solid foundation for the future.

Board Meetings

Board Meetings are held five times a year to evaluate the program and plan events. Future initiatives and strategies are discussed at a Spring Planning Meeting. The Board is composed of students, Tucson hosts and a representative from the University of Arizona office of International Students. Anyone who is interested can become a member of one of the Committees of the Board, including Special Events, Fund Raising, and Public Relations. Often times committee members move on to the Board of Directors when a vacancy occurs on the Board. You can learn more about the board by visiting the links below.


Fiscal Year July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2018

Date Time Event Location
July 17 5:30 pm Board meeting ISS Office
July TBD New Host Orientation TBD
Aug 8 9:00 am New Student Orientation Student Union
Aug. 9 1:00-5:00 pm Information Fair Student Union
Aug. 12 12:00-2:00 pm Welcome Lunch First United Methodist Church
Sept. 18 5:30 pm Board meeting ISS Office
Sept. 24 12:00-3:00 pm Fall Picnic Reid Park - Ramada 22
Nov. 11 TBD New Host Orientation TBD
Nov. 18 7:00 pm International Student Talent Show Stevie Eller Dance Theater
Dec. 4 5:30 pm Board Meeting ISS Office
Jan. 3 9:00 am New Student Orientation Student Union
Jan. 4 9:00 am Information Fair Student Union
Jan. 7 12:00 pm New Student Welcome Lunches TBD
Jan/Feb TBD New Host Orientation TBD
Feb. 11 12:00-3:00 pm Rodeo Roundup Picnic Reid Park - Ramada 22
Mar. 5 5:30 pm Annual Meeting ISS Office
Apr. 21 9:00-12:00 pm Board Planning Meeting TBD

2017 Board Members

Community Members

  • Co-Chair: LuAnn Haley
  • Co-Chair: Pamela Harlan
  • Treasurer: Robert Woerner
  • Secretary: Pam Obando
  • Jody Friend
  • Randy Spalding
  • Andrae Jones
  • Doug Cline
  • Patricia Gilman
  • Jashio Pei

Student Representatives

  • Ahn Vu
  • Bruna Sommer
  • Youhao Wei

ISS Liaisons

  • Noelle Sallaz
  • Sylvia Ahanonu
  • Danita Smith